President Samhat

Board of Trustees

Wofford College Board of Trustees Group Shot

Front row (L-R): Patterson, Willimon, J. Hipp, Pleicones, Gibbs, Nix, Allen, James, Wile, Carpenter, McLean, Hoy, Morrison
Back row (L-R): Malambri, N. Hipp, Reeves, Converse, Meadors, Richardson, J. Johnson, Taylor, Joyce, Oakes, Glatt, S. Johnson
Not pictured: Cobb, Goodall, Melvin, Montgomery, Porter, Prothro

Wofford has 31 trustees who serve as the governing body of the college under the terms of the will of the college's founder, the Rev. Benjamin Wofford, and a state charter of 1851. They are elected to staggered four-year terms by the South Carolina Conference of the United Methodist Church. Tenure is limited to 12 consecutive years.

For information regarding the Wofford College Board of Trustees, contact:

David M. Beacham
Senior Vice President for Administration and Secretary to the Board of Trustees
Office: 864-597-4206

2018-19 Officers of the Board of Trustees
Mr. R. Michael James, ’73, Charlotte, NC, Chairman
Mr. James M. Johnson ’71, Birmingham, AL, Vice-Chair
The Hon. Costa M. Pleicones ’65, Columbia, SC, Secretary

2018-19 Members of the Board of Trustees
Mrs. Ashley Richardson Allen, Charlotte, NC
Mr. Ronald A. Andrews, Jr. '81, Coto de Caza, CA
Mr. Christopher A. P. Carpenter ’90, Atlanta, GA
Mr. Justin A. Converse ’96, Spartanburg, SC
Mr. Jimmy I. Gibbs, Spartanburg, SC
Mr. D. Christian Goodall ’79, Columbia, SC
Mr. H. Neel Hipp Jr., Greenville, SC
The Rev. John W. Hipp ’75, Florence, SC
Mrs. Laura J. Hoy, Myrtle Beach, SC
Mr. R. Michael James, ’73, Charlotte, NC
Mr. James M. Johnson ’71, Birmingham, AL
Mr. Stewart H. Johnson ’67, Spartanburg, SC
The Rev. William F. Malambri ’98, Florence, SC
Mrs. Jodie W. McLean, Bethesda, MD
Mr. James C. Meadors ’81, Charleston, SC
Mr. Craig D. Melvin ’01, New York, NY
Mrs. Betty J. Montgomery, Campobello, SC
Dr. Daniel B. Morrison Jr. ’75, Charlotte, NC
Mr. Steven W. Mungo ’81, Irmo, SC
Ms. Wendi M. Nix  ’96, New York, NY
Mr. Corry W. Oakes III ’89, Spartanburg, SC
Mr. L. Leon Patterson ’63, Greenville, SC
The Hon. Costa M. Pleicones ’65, Columbia, SC
Mr. Stanley E. Porter ’89, Chevy Chase, MD
Mr. J. Patrick Prothro ’96, Park City, UT
Mr. J. E. Reeves Jr., Summit, NJ
Mr. Joe E. Taylor Jr. ’80, Columbia, SC
Mrs. Erin M. Watson '91, Atlanta, GA
Bishop William H. Willimon ’68, Durham, NC
Mr. Joshua S. Whitley ’05, Charleston SC  
Ms. Joyce Payne Yette ’80, Washington, D.C.