Menu Down Arrows


Download Magazine

View or download the print version of the magazine. PDF icon   

winter 2018
Hall of fame inductees

2017 Athletics Hall of Fame

Four inducted in their first year of eligibility.

Eric Breitenstein ’12, Mac Doyle ’12, Brad Loesing ’12 and Ameet Pall ’12 were selected by the Hall of Fame Committee of the Wofford College Terrier Club Board of Directors for induction into the 2017 Athletics Hall of Fame. For all four, it was their first year of eligibility for the honor.

In addition, the Hall of Fame committee recognized Shirley and Buddy Kirby ’61 as the Distinguished Service Award recipients and Joe Edens and Stewart Johnson ’67 as Honorary Lettermen.

The Athletics Hall of Fame enshrined its newest class on Oct. 7 prior to the football team’s win over Western Carolina University. The Athletics Hall of Fame recognizes “those former athletes and coaches who, by outstanding athletic achievement and service, have made lasting and significant contributions to the cause of sports at Wofford College, the Spartanburg community, South Carolina and the nation.”

Eric Breitenstein

Breitenstein is the college’s all-time leading rusher and was the SoCon Offensive Player of the Year in 2011 and 2012. A three-time All-American, he finished third in the voting for the Walter Payton Award. Breitenstein went on to earn his M.Ed. from Arizona State University and is now a science teacher at Osborne Middle School in Phoenix.

Mac Doyle 

Doyle is baseball’s career leader in hits, RBIs and total bases. He played catcher, outfield and designated hitter for the Terriers. He was named ABCA/Rawlings second team All-American in 2010. Doyle is an account manager with Shealy Electrical Wholesaler in the Raleigh-Durham area of North Carolina.

Brad Loesing

Loesing led the team to the 2010 and 2011 NCAA Tournaments. In his senior season he played 1,265 minutes, the most in a single season in Wofford history. Loesing was inducted into Phi Beta Kappa and named a first team CoSIDA Academic All-American. He now plays professional basketball in Germany.

Ameet Pall

Pall is third in college history in career sacks, fifth in tackles and was the 2010 SoCon Defensive Player of the Year. An All-American, he finished second in the voting for the Buck Buchanan Award, the highest ever for a Terrier. A native of Montreal, Quebec, he was drafted fifth overall in the 2012 Canadian Football League Draft.

Joe Edens and Stewart Johnson ’67

Edens has proudly supported Wofford athletics for over 20 years. His son, Michael Edens ’98, lettered in football at Wofford. The family created the Michael Edens Endowed Scholarship Fund and also contributed the lead gift to help establish the Mike Ayers Football Endowed Scholarship Fund in honor of Ayers’ 50th birthday.

Johnson, who travels in support of Wofford teams as much as possible, joined the board of trustees in 2012. He and his wife, Ann Cobb Johnson, provided the lead gift for the Stewart H. Johnson Greek Village, and they established the Mike Young Endowed Scholarship Fund in 2011. The Johnson family has provided philanthropic leadership to numerous Wofford projects, including helping establish the Terrier Ball Auction and Gala.

Shirley and Buddy Kirby

The Kirbys have supported Wofford athletics for decades, putting the Terrier Club over the million-dollar goal for the first time in 2001, the same year the Kirbys established the James N. and Shirley T. Kirby Endowed Scholarship Fund. Their scholarship is awarded to an outstanding student-athlete who exemplifies the highest qualities of character and work ethic and who also has an interest in business and entrepreneurship.


by Brent Williamson